Dec 10, 2018  
2013-2014 HillBook (Class of 2017) 
2013-2014 HillBook (Class of 2017) [ARCHIVED HILL BOOK]


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study


Department Chairperson:
Anna Lännström

R. Capobianco
A. Celano

Associate Professors:
A. Lännström
E. McGushin
B. O’Sullivan

Assistant Professors:
C. Mekios
J. Velazquez

A. Carmichael

Faculty Fellow:
M. Labinski

The Department of Philosophy offers a major and minor in Philosophy.

The Department of Philosophy is committed to the ideals of a liberal education and understands the study of Philosophy as essential to such a noble endeavor. The courses offered by the Department allow its students to develop the logical and critical skills needed to read intelligently and to think clearly, to learn how Philosophy developed over the centuries, and to appreciate the contributions of the great philosophers to Western culture. The study of Philosophy reveals the complexity of reality and the difficulty of the problems to be faced in the search for truth.

Graduates with a major in Philosophy from Stonehill have become college presidents and vice presidents, academic deans, professors, judges, lawyers, priests, business persons, and authors. Some have become directors of personnel, others political and social analysts; still others have entered government service and politics. Liberally educated persons are ready to move in many directions. But more than preparing students for a career, a major in Philosophy prepares them for life and a lifelong pursuit of wisdom.


The selection and sequence of courses for both the major and the minor should be taken in consultation with the Chairperson or advisor.

PHL 421 - Senior Philosophy Colloquium  involves writing an independent thesis with guidance from a member of the department. The student should approach their prospective advisor at the beginning of the senior year.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study